Posts by Justin Jagoe

VIDEO: Winter Solstice - Reason for the Season!

Was Tom Flynn right that there is no benefit for humanists and secularists to December celebrations? Jon Cleland Host - who has been celebrating the Winter Solstice with his family for nearly two decades - discussed that question during Sunday's public Zoom presentation, using the reality-based traditions which have both built critical thought, as well as brought joy to his kids year after year. If you missed it, no worries! You can watch the conversation right here.

Jon is a materials scientist who lives in Michigan. A member and active volunteer for UUHA, he authors the blog Naturalistic Paganism.

The discussion is also embedded below:

Read more about VIDEO: Winter Solstice - Reason for the Season! »

ONLINE ZOOM EVENT: Winter Solstice - Reason for the Season!

You're Invited to Join UUHA Board members for an online our year-end celebration:

Winter Solstice - The Reason for the Season!

  • WHEN: Sunday December 19
  • TIME: 7:00pm Eastern (6:00pm Central | 5:00pm MST | 4:00pm Pacific)
  • WHERE: Zoom Meeting (Login info Below)

Was Tom Flynn right that there is no benefit for humanists and secularists to December celebrations? Jon Cleland Host - who has been celebrating the Winter Solstice with his family for nearly two decades - will try to answer that question, using the reality-based traditions which have both built critical thought, as well as brought joy to his kids year after year.

Consider bringing a candle, and something to light it with, for our discussion!

Jon is a materials scientist who lives in Michigan. A member and active volunteer for UUHA, he authors the blog Naturalistic Paganism. Read more about ONLINE ZOOM EVENT: Winter Solstice - Reason for the Season! »

UUHA Annual Meeting This Saturday

This weekend the UU Humanist Association will hold its Annual Meeting. This is one of our organization’s most important events, as it gives the UUHA Board of Directors a chance to meet directly with its membership and it gives members a chance to vote on the proposed UUHA board election slate.

Information on what is expected at our Annual Meetings can be reviewed in the UUHA Bylaws (Article III).

Similar to last year, the 2021 Annual Meeting will be hosted via the Zoom Conferencing Application. We also plan to award our Person of the Year Award to ethical evangelist Jé Exodus Hooper. Read more about UUHA Annual Meeting This Saturday »

SAVE THE DATE: The UUHA Annual Meeting

Dear UUHA Members,

Each year the Unitarian Universalist Humanist Association Board hosts the UUHA Annual Meeting. This is a vital opportunity for members to meet directly with UUHA leadership. Items on the Annual meeting agenda include, but are not limited to, elections for open UUHA Board positions, announcement of our UUHA Person of the Year, and a chance to brief members on programming and general updates.

Last year's online Annual Meeting was a smashing success, with UUHA members nationwide able to join and engage in member business from the safety and comfort of their own home. For this year's Annual Meeting, we plan to meet online once again. Read more about SAVE THE DATE: The UUHA Annual Meeting »

UPCOMING EVENT - Panel: "Does Humanism Have a Future in Unitarian Universalism?"

The UU Humanist Association is participating in an exciting discussion, hosted by the First Unitarian Church of Pittsburgh, to discuss the place of Humanism in Unitarian Universalism. The event will be led by Rev. David Breeden of First Unitarian Society of Minneapolis, and the discussion will be Shared with UUHA President Leika Lewis-Cornwell.

 

Details and Registration information is below: Read more about UPCOMING EVENT - Panel: "Does Humanism Have a Future in Unitarian Universalism?" »

The UUHA Needs Volunteers!

Behind the scenes, the Board of Directors of the Unitarian Universalist Humanist Association (UUHA) has been brainstorming new and exciting ideas for the organization as we look to 2021 and beyond. The UUHA is ready to find fresh ways to fulfill our mission to serve our members and the principles of Humanism and Unitarian Universalism across the country and beyond. 

To that end, the UUHA leadership would love your help in our efforts.

We are looking for volunteers to help us form our primary organization committees, which in turn will lay the groundwork to revitalize our programming, outreach, and services we provide for our membership. We are seeking volunteers across various sectors of our work, from internal operations to member-facing programs. And so, depending on your interests and passions, you might be the volunteer we're looking for!

Some more information on our committees and the work is listed further down. But click the link below too apply to be a volunteer! Read more about The UUHA Needs Volunteers! »

EVENT: Join the UUHA on Zoom to Celebrate Darwin Day!

In honor of Darwin Day on Friday, The UU Humanist Association is excited to offer a free Zoom presentation and celebrate the birthday, the work, and the legacy of Charles Darwin.

  • Date: Friday, February 12
  • Time: 8:00pm Eastern (7:00pm Central | 6:00pm Mountain | 5:00pm Pacific)
  • Where: Zoom (Login instructions are listed below)

We will start with a 23-minute pre-recorded presentation, generously provided by Rev. David Breeden of First Unitarian Society of Minneapolis (if you're running late, you can watch the presentation anytime right here).

Following the presentation will be an open-ended discussion about Darwin and his significance to UU Humanism. The discussion will be led by UUHA Vice President James Witker, and all meeting attendees will be welcome to participate. Read more about EVENT: Join the UUHA on Zoom to Celebrate Darwin Day! »

Pages